European Shooting Stars 2019

European Shooting Stars 2019

The European Film Promotion (EFP), the pan-European network for the promotion of European films and talent, has announced the European Shooting Stars 2019.

Three of the ten freshly nominated actresses and actors, will be well known to the audience of the FilmFestival Cottbus: Blagoj Veselinov, Milan Marić and Dawid Ogrodnik, all starred in films during the last three editions of the festival.

Blagoj Veselinov, Macedonia


At the 28th FFC in 2018, the 34-year-old was featured in Gjorce Stavreski's award-winning black comedy SECRET INGREDIENT (section HITS). Veselinov convinced the EFP jury with his "deep and unexpected sensitivity" in the role of the faithful son Vele (photo: © Petar Kociski)

Milan Marić, Serbia 


Marić (born 1990) played in Mirjana Karanović‘s directing debut A GOOD WIFE, which was shown at FilmFestival Cottbus in 2016 in the section SPECIALS.

As the leading actor in the film DOVLATOV, which was screened at the feature film competition of the 2018 BERLINALE, Marić became known to a larger audience in the role of the famous Russian writer Sergei Dovlatov. His "gloomily charismatic, brooding and affecting" work, led the jury to the decision to award him as one of the European Shooting Stars 2019. (photo: © Danilo Pavlovi) 

Dawid Ogrodnik, Poland


In recent years, Ogrodnik has appeared several times on screen at the FFC. In 2014 he appeared in THE WORD (U18 Youth Film Competition), 2015 in the comedy DISCO POLO (Specials) and 2016 in the feature film competition in the drama THE LAST FAMILY by Jan P. Matuszyński. For his role in the latter film, the 32-year-old won the Prize For An Outstanding Actor at the FFC. 
His acting performance in SILENT NIGHT – screend in this year's FFC programme in the section Polskie Horyzonty – convinced the EFP jury to make him one of the European Shooting Star 2019. (photo: © Leszek Zych)

In addition to Dawid Ogrodnik, Milan Marić and Blagoj Veselinov, Emma Drogunova (Germany), Elliott Crosset Hove (Denmark), Rea Lest-Liik (Estonia), Kristín Thora Haraldsdóttir (Iceland), Aisling Franciosi (Ireland), Ine Marie Wilmann (Norway), and Ardalan Esmaili (Sweden) were named European Shooting Star 2019.

The award enables the ten actresses and actors to present themselves to international casting directors, agents, directors, producers and press representatives at various events and workshops during the 69th Berlinale 2019. The highlight will be the European Shooting Stars award ceremony on February 11th, 2019 at the Berlinale Palast.

More information on the website of EFP (European Film Promotion):


Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok