Our juries are for the most part appointed by the festival direction and comprise notable figures of the East European and German film industry. A total number of eight juries awards prizes at the FilmFestival Cottbus and the Lusatian FilmShow.

International Festival Jury

Sergey Dvortsevoy – Sergey Dvortsevoy is an author, director, trained radio technician and worked for Aeroflot for several years before studying film in Moscow. Since then, he has mainly made documentaries known for their poetic images, including BREAD DAY (1998). In 2008 he made his feature film debut at the Cannes Film Festival with TULPAN, where he won the Un Certain Regard Prize. At the 28th FFC he won the main prize for the best film with his production AYKA (2018).

Luli Bitri – Born in 1976 in the small Albanian town of Lushnja, the actress grew up in Tirana. Luli Bitri first attracted the attention of an international audience in 2009 in Artan Minarolli's ALIVE!, where she played the leading role, as well as in Bujar Alimani's AMNESTY in 2011. Bitri also appears regularly on stage at the Teatri Kombëtar, the National Theatre of Albania. In the section  SPECTRUM she can be seen in Maria Lafi''s feature film debut HOLY BOOM, which is currently experiencing an extremely successful festival tour.

Péter Muszatics – In his book "Vienna, Budapest, Hollywood - The Influence of Austro-Hungary on American Film", published last year, the Hungarian film historian Péter Muszatics analyses the success factors of Austrians and Hungarians in Hollywood. Born in 1976 in Keszthely, Hungary, Muszatics has also worked for many years as a curator in the service of film art.

Marija Perović – As the first female director in the history of Montenegro, Marija Perović has been involved in more than 350 productions. She studied film and television directing at the Faculty of Performing Arts in Belgrade. Perović is known for her dramas LOOK AT ME (2008) and PACKING THE MONKEYS, AGAIN! (2004). She is also the President of the Montenegrin Film Association, professor at the University of Performing Arts in Cetinje, and Chairman of the Board of the Herceg Novi Film Festival - Montenegro Film Festival. The FFC shows her impressive drama BREASTS (2018) in the section SPOTLIGHT: MONTENEGRO.

Peter Badel – Until his retirement this year, Peter Badel was professor of camera studies at the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF. There he had completed his own camera studies until 1981. Born in Berlin in 1953, Badel worked as a cameraman in the DEFA studio for feature films until 1990. From 1992 he worked as a freelance filmmaker in Germany and worldwide, among others with the directors Thomas Heise (MEIN BRUDER - WE'LL MEET AGAIN, FFC 2018) and Bernard Stephan. In the section HEIMAT | DOMOWNJA | DOMIZNA the half hour documentary IN SCHWARZE PUMPE (1991) could be seen in 2015, which he realised with Dieter Chill after the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Jury Short Film Competition

Margarita Arsova – Director of Cinedays Festival of European Film, North Macedonia

Hilal Baydarov – Director (WHEN THE PERSIMMONS GROWSPECTRUM), Azerbaijan

Jascha Rust – Actor, Germany

Jury U 18 Youth Film Competition


Maja Dachtera  5. Liceum in Zielona Góra, Poland 
Hubert Drobek – 5. Liceum in Zielona Góra, Poland 

Amalie Honovám – Gymnázium Teplice, Czech Republic 
Julie Kynčová – Gymnázium Teplice, Czech Republic

Lena Zioga-Stoy – Humboldt-Gymnasium Cottbus, Germany 
Clara Prasse – Humboldt-Gymnasium Cottbus, Germany

Jury of the DIALOGUE Prize for Intercultural Communication


Thanos Anastopoulos – Director, screenwriter and producer (Cannes 2016: THE LAST RESORT), Greece & Italy

Alina Tomnikov – Actress, Finland & Russia

Aslı Özge – Director (Berlinale 2016: AUF EINMAL), Turkey & Germany

Jury Debut Film Prize


Andrea Wohlfeil – Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF, Germany 

Jana Stolle – Cultural advisor of the student council of the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg, Germany

Daniel Bühler – BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg, Germany



Dietmar Hochmuth – Germany

Božidar Zečević – Serbia

Lesław Czapliński – Poland

Ecumenical Jury


Gaëlle Courtens – Switzerland & Italy

Bojidar Manov – Bulgaria

Théo Peporté – Luxembourg

Julia Laggner – Austria

Jury of the Lusatian FilmShow


Angela Schuster – Filmmaker and media pedagogue, Hoyerswerda

Kerstin Adam – Cinema operator, Cottbus

Monika Wojtyllo – Actress and director, Berlin


Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.